District at a glance

District Resources

How to arrive

E-commerce on organic rice       

Educational Institutions


District Profile

Origin :-                        The name Lakhimpur is believed to be originated from the word “Lakshmi”, the goddess of prosperity. The district is mainly dependent upon agriculture and paddy. Paddy is regarded locally as “Lakhimi”. The word “pur” means “full”. Lakhimpur therefore means full of paddy or the place where paddies are grown abundantly. Besides, the soil of the district is alluvial and fertile for which crops  flourish  without use of any artificial manure or hard labour. Over and above fish, meat, vegetables, milk  were abundant in this district. Others say that  the word originated from Lakhsmi Devi, the mother of Bhuyan  Raja who was the descendent of  King Arimatta . As per Lakhimpur District Gazette (1976:4) , the district was notified as Lakhimpur District through a proclamation issued by then Governor General on July, 1839.  On 2nd October, 1971 the district was reorganized with  two sub divisions viz. Dhemaji and North Lakhimpur . Later it was again reorganized in the year  1989 with two subdivisions viz. Dhakuakhana and North Lakhimpur leaving Dhemaji as a separate district.          

            The district was earlier regarded as “Koliapani” because there was practically no road communication to this district till 1950.  In the year 1954, the temporary aerodrome was started. From 1957 the ASTC buses started plying from Lakhimpur and from 1963 the North East Frontier Railway started train services from this district.  

Location                    Lakhimpur District is situated on the North East corner of Assam . The district lies between 26048’ and 27053’ northern latitude and 93042’ and 94020’ east longitude (approx.)

Boundary          It is bounded on the north by Siang and Papumpare District of Arunachal Pradesh and on the east by Dhemaji District and Subansiri river. Majuli Sub Division of Jorhat District stands on the southern side  and Gahpur sub division of Sonitpur District is on the West.


Area                            The District covers an area of 2277 Sqkm out of  which  2257 Sqkm  is rural and 20 sqkm  is urban.


Population                The Provisional population total as per Census of India, paper 1 of 2011  is as follows,

(See table)


Click here to get Census 2011data (Final)- information on district population and household details(Village wise)

Summary of Population statistics for Lakhimpur District

Population 2011

Decadal growth rate

Sex Ratio





















Population 2001

Decadal growth rate

Sex Ratio





















Lakhimpur District Data (Abstract) Census 2011 



Sub divisions  & Police Stations  The district is divided into two sub divisions  viz. North Lakhimpur and Dhakuakhana. North Lakhimpur Sub-division consists of 4 Police stations viz. North Lakhimpur, Boginadi, Laluk and Bihpuria,.  Dhakuakhana Sub Division consists of two  Police stations  viz.  Dhakuakhana and Ghilamara.

Forest                         Forests of the district are mainly tropical rain forest. The important reserved forests of the district are  Ranga Reserve,    Kakoi Reserve,  Dulung Reserve   and Pava Reserve . The varieties of  tree species grown in the forest  area are  Hollock (Terminalia Myriocarpa) , Urium (Bichotia Jauvanica), Nahar (Mesua Ferrea), Ajhar (lagerstroemia speciosa), Simul (Bombax ceiba/Salmalia Malabarica), Sum (Machilus), Sualu , Gomari (gmelina orborea), Sissoo (Dalbergia Sissoo), Jutuli (Altingia excelsa), Silikha (Terminalia Chebula), Neem (Azadirachta Indica), Sopa (Magnolia) etc.

The River System and Flood :

1. The Brahmaputra   :- The mighty river Brahmaputra  is the southern boundary of the district and it touches all along the southern and southeastern boundary.

2. The Subansiri :  The river Subansiri is originated from Tibet and enters the plains of Lakhimpur and Dhemaji district. The total length of the river is 326 miles up to the international boarder. The catchments area of the river is 10,148 Sqmiles in Arunachal Pradesh and 440 SqMiles in Assam. The river discharges 2,09,546 Cusecs of water at Bhimpara Ghat.

3.      The Ranganadi : The river originates from the Dafla hills of  Arunachal Pradesh. The total length of the river is 90 miles and total catchments area  is 839 Sqmiles in Arunachal Pradesh  and 296 Sqmiles in Assam.  It discharges 17,500 cusecs of water at 2 miles up stream of National Highway –52.

4.      The Dikrong : The Dikrong originates from the Dafla Hills of Arunachal Pradesh. In  Arunachal Pradesh,  it is known as Par Nadi. It enters the plains near Harmutty Tea Estate and runs 25 miles to join the Brahmaputra at Badati. It discharges 20,000 cusecs of water at 1 mile down stream of National Highway-52. The catchments area of the river is 512 Sqmiles in Arunachal Pradesh   and 101 Sqmiles in Assam.   The causes of flood in Lakhimpur District are due to excessive rainfalls  in Assam and Arunachal Pradesh, melting of snow at Tibet  and  bursting of dams, which are formed by the landslides at the rivers flowing from Arunachal Pradesh. During flood the rivers get   charged with enormous quantity of silt and in their movement  the rivers  alter the conditions of flow and sometimes changes the river course causing untold miseries to the people living in its low-lying basin.

Mineral                      There is no major exploration of minerals in this district. The great Subansiri river was once famous for gold washing.

Fauna                         With the increase of human population and large-scale deforestation of existing forest, the wild animal of various species are dwindling due to loss of habitat etc.  Presently wild elephants, buffaloes, tigers, deer, hyenas are seen in the forest area. Varieties of bird species are available in swampy areas.

Administrative Set up  Lakhimpur district with its headquarters at North Lakhimpur  and the sub divisional headquarters  at Dhakuakhana includes the following  Revenue circles :  Lakhimpur, Dhakuakhana, Kadam, Nauboicha, Bihpuria, Narayanpur and  Subansiri ( Ghilamara)  and there are  9  Nos. of Blocks viz. Narayanpur, Bihpuria, Karunabari , Nowboicha, Telahi, Lakhimpur , Boginadi, Ghilamara and Dhakuakhana.


Download District Census Data (2001)District Census Data (2011)

District Area

2277 Sqkm

Village Area

2257 Sqkm

Town Area

20 SqKm

No of  Zila Parishad


Nos. of Anchalik Panchayat


No. of  Gaon Panchayat  


No of Sub division


No. of Revenue Circles


No. of Development Block


Total No. of Villages (Inhabited)


No. of Police Station


No. of Fire Service Station


Total Population

8,89,010 (2001 Census)

Male population

4,55,691 (2001 Census)

Female Population

4,33,319 (2001 Census)

S.C.  Population  

70,060( 7.88%) (2001 Census)

S.T.  Population  

2,08,864(23.49%) (2001 Census)

Hindu Population

7,02,881(79.06%) (2001 Census)

Muslim Population

1,43,505(16.14%) (2001 Census)

Christian Population

36,667(4.12%) (2001 Census)

No.  of Civil Hospital


T.B. Hospital

1(10 beds) 

No.  of Town